Grateful American® Foundation

Grateful American Book Series

The Grateful American Foundation was founded in 2014 to restore enthusiasm about American history for kids — and adults – via videos and podcasts. Abigail & John is the inaugural book of the Grateful American Book Series. The book series will focus on the presidential and historical marriages that influenced the nation’s history.

Abigail & John offers readers the opportunity to view prominent scenes in American history through the remarkable lives of one of the country’s most beloved couples—the Adams’s. Exploring the historical significance of a partnership that spanned over five decades, the book details the love they shared for each other and the country. From carefree childhoods to years of war, to the births of their children, and the beginning of a new nation, Abigail & John looks into the unique roles the Adams’s played in the formation of America, and contributions and sacrifices they made for the young country.

From David Bruce Smith, author of American Hero: John Marshall, Chief Justice of the United States, and his mother Clarice Smith, world renowned artist, comes this compelling and insightful historical biography of Abigail and John Adams. This unique nonfiction children’s book tells the story of one of America’s most-treasured couples alongside stunning and original illustrations.


Title: Abigail & John
Series: Grateful American Book
Author: David Bruce Smith
Illustrator: Clarice Smith
Specs/Illustrations: 32 pages
Age Range: 8–12
Grade Level: 4–8

Published by Liberty Bell Press, an imprint of the Pike and Powder Publishing Group, Inc.

Partners & Supporters