Grateful American® Foundation

GA Book Prize Featured on Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators website

March 18, 2015

logo-scbwiThe international professional organization for writers and illustrators of children’s literature featured today the announcement about the new Grateful American™ Book Prize.

Click here to read more.

New Award for Historical Middle-Grade Fiction or Nonfiction

A new book award, The Grateful American™ Book Prize, has been established to honor children’s books of fiction and nonfiction that feature the events and the people that shaped the history of the United States. The Prize was co-founded by author and publisher David Bruce Smith who said, “Of the more than five dozen literary awards for children’s books in the United States, the Grateful American™ Book Prize is the only one awarded for excellence in writing, storytelling, and illustration in the category of historically accurate works for children. Our aim is to restore the role of history in the education of America’s children at a time when the focus in the classroom is on math and science.” The Prize consists of a $13,000 cash award.

Partners & Supporters